DNR adds more counties to burning restrictions list

Because wildfire risk remains high, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has added the following counties to the burn restriction list effective immediately: 

Aitkin, Carlton, Cass (south), Crow Wing, Becker, Beltrami (south), Cass (north), Clearwater, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Mahnomen, Polk (east), St. Louis (south).

The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until this restriction is lifted. Restrictions remain in place for:

Anoka, Beltrami (north), Benton, Chisago, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Red Lake, Roseau, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Washington, Wilkin, Wright.

“Warm and dry conditions are key factors for wildfires, so we have to remain vigilant about restricting open burning,” said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. “These restrictions really do work: they’ve helped us reduce wildfires by more than 30 percent over the past decade.”

McCoy encourages landowners to compost, chip, or take brush to a collection site rather than burn it. For information on how compost yard waste, visit the University of Minnesota’s Extension website.

People who burn debris can be held financially responsible if their fire escapes and burns other property.

For information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the Minnesota DNR fire danger and burning restrictions webpage.