Discounted fee offered as part of national Spring Aboard boating education campaign
Boaters of all ages and skill levels have the opportunity to save 50 percent on the Boat Minnesota online boating course if they enroll by Saturday, April 23. The limited-time discount is offered as part of the national Spring Aboard boating safety education campaign.
Those who successfully complete the course receive a Minnesota Watercraft Operator’s Permit from the Department of Natural Resources. Minnesota law requires boaters ages 12 to 17 have a permit before operating watercraft with an engine over 25 horsepower.
“An educated boater is safer and more confident on the water, which translates into a more enjoyable boating experience for the operator and passengers,” said Capt. Jon Paurus, DNR Enforcement Education Program Coordinator. “Taking a boating safety course should be part of every family’s checklist as they prepare for the boating season.”
Although not a requirement in Minnesota, adult boaters are also strongly encouraged to take a boating safety course to improve their skills and knowledge on the water. U.S. Coast Guard accident statistics show that approximately 80 percent of boating deaths occur on boats where the operator has not taken a boating safety course.
“More adults are getting into boating without having participated in their youth, so the knowledge of boating regulations and safety practices hasn’t been passed down. And even those who have boated their entire lives can learn something new by taking a course, since rules and requirements change over time,” said Stan Linnell, the DNR’s state boating law administrator.
As additional incentive to take a boating safety course, boaters with a watercraft operator’s permit may also be eligible for a discount on boat insurance premiums, and they will meet any mandatory boating education requirements out-of-state and in Canada.
To receive the Spring Aboard discount, visit the boating education website and enter discount code SPRINGABOARDMN16. Enrollment must take place by Saturday, April 23, but the course does not need to be completed immediately.
The Spring Aboard campaign is coordinated by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA), and is supported by a U.S. Coast Guard grant. Learn more at the NASBLA website.
For more information on Minnesota’s boating safety rules and regulations, go to the boating safety website.