Group with diverse interests to consider southeastern Minnesota deer goals

(Released February 24, 2014)

A broad cross-section of interests will be represented on the 21-member advisory team that will help the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources set deer population goals in southeastern Minnesota.

“Team members were selected from an open call for nominations to represent both the diversity of interests in deer management as well as for their collective familiarity with individual deer permit areas that will be discussed,” said Leslie McInenly, DNR big game program leader.

More than 90 individuals applied to participate on the teams. Specific emphasis in choosing the 21 members was placed on identifying individuals with a personal connection to deer management in southeastern Minnesota.

Team members represent archery, firearm and muzzleloader hunters as well as nonhunters; area residents and landowners; farmers; orchard owners and operators; land managers; local government staff and appointed officials; local business owners; and members of hunting, conservation and agricultural organizations.

Advisory team members are: Mark Bauman, Rochester; Cynthie Christensen, Rushford; Ken Fetterly, Spring Valley; Larry Gates, Kellogg; Collin Johnson, St. Charles; Chris Kolbert, St. Charles; Kyle Kolbet, Rochester; Vong Lee, Roseville; Quintin Lohse, Chatfield; Melinda Miller, Stewartville; Anne Morse, Dakota; Mark Popovich, Welch; Ron Rosenthal, Red Wing; Tom Ryan, Byron; Jim Siewert, Lake City; Michael Simons, Cottage Grove; Terry Spaeth, Rochester; Len Strapp, Rushford; Marty Stubstad, Rochester; Mark Timm, Altura and Jim Vogen, Chatfield.

The advisory team will consider and discuss citizen input from two public meetings on deer population management as well as information from an online questionnaire and written comments. The analysis will help define the social, economic and recreational contexts for a biological discussion of the area’s deer population and development of goal recommendations.

The DNR began revisiting deer population goals in 2012, when similar area teams helped set new goals for some permit areas in the Windom, Floodwood and Tower areas. The current round of goal-setting focuses on the nine deer permit areas that comprise southeastern Minnesota. Those permit areas are 341, 342, 343, 344, 345, 346, 347, 348 and 349. The DNR plans to have new goals established in all of Minnesota’s deer permit areas before the 2016 firearms deer season begins.

More information about the goal-setting process and deer management is available on the DNR website.